Ever since I started learning Clojure, it was clear that I would be using Emacs.   I was already most comfortable using a command line and text editor, I’d already set macros that mimicked some of the Emacs keystrokes (like CTRL-f),  and the editor’s written in Lisp.  It was inevitable.

Nevertheless, I resisted.  I had never been comfortable with switching buffers, and was very used to the traditional Windows keystrokes for saving, copying, cutting, and pasting.  And up to this afternoon, I had successfully resisted…until now.

What had done it?  A thousand small cuts, to be sure.  But two big ones:

  • I got access to a Linux server, but only had Putty handy.  This meant no graphical desktop was available – I only had the command line.
  • Github exaggerated the tabs of my source code files to a degree that I was starting to convert tabs to spaces for each file in Notepad++.  Once I noticed how beautiful Emacs indenting was (both when writing and when pushed onto Github), it was very hard to turn back.

So I downloaded Clojure Box for my home laptop, figured out enough of the new keystrokes/macros to do something useful, and ended my use of Notepad++ as an IDE.  It’s a great application for what it is, but I’m really liking Emacs.  On top of that, it looks like somebody’s written an N3/Turtle mode for writing RDF in Emacs – I’ll have to try that out over the weekend.

